Emerging from the Chinese Church

Living Counter-Culturally in a Chinese Church as a CBC Christian | September 30, 2008

What a mouthful!

I don’t think this blog will be much food for thought, but more appetizer for thought…

I guess I’m wondering if I’m doing this right?  Going through the motions of ministry at a Chinese megachurch, serving where I’m gifted to serve (and called to I suppose)… but not agreeing with the vision as a whole, yet still staying on board to see if God will do “His Thang”.

Everything I read in the bible, every sermon I hear from the Pastors I’m listening to, CONVICTS me to do something, whether it’s small or BIG.  But how come it feels like I’m all alone feeling like this?  Like what I feel CONVICTED to do, to say, to act is COUNTER-CULTURAL to what my traditional chinese culture and chinese church upbringing is all about.

Most people will tell me to be patient, let change happen gradually and whatnot.  But what if that isn’t enough?  What happens if I know I can only “take so much”?  Do I ask God for all the patience He can give me?  Or do I spearhead something new, something fresh, something relevant… ugh… SOMETHING!???

 

How can I stand idly by when I generation is becoming consumed with anything BUT their God?

Posted in Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. I agree with you. We cannot stand idly by. God calls us to a time like this to be His witness.
    With that said, I don’t mean everyone need to be a revolutionary. There are many things we can do, depending on your gifts and calls. For me, I am going to (try to) “nurture next generation leaders and build next generation churches.” I may not see the fruits, because I am quite old : ) but, will keep trying… May God bless the efforts.

    Comment by gee lowe — October 3, 2008 @ 3:16 am


Leave a Reply

