Emerging from the Chinese Church

The Messy Discussion of Sin | July 22, 2008

So in this “postmodern” time, there’s been much opinion on the topic of sin.  Even the modern understanding of atonement has been challenged to become much more holistic to include not only sin atonement but different theories such as christus victor, ransom theory, etc.  I for one have been open to a larger conceptual understanding of sin and how God is dealing with it in Jesus, but on a practical level, I am completely STUNNED about how SIN is being perceived nowadays.

Am I the only one struggling through this concept?  It seems like the modern tendency is to become a “judgmental”, bible-bashing, moral christian who tells people that they are disobeying a wrathful, angry God who DESPISES sin.

The more “liberal” approach is to become more understanding of the “human condition” in which we are sinful but we can’t help but not engage the world thus, things like getting drunk, smoking, pre-marital sex, etc is something that is just normal.  God saves us anyways right?

I struggle through these things because I don’t see both sides as correct.  I DEFINITELY have not painted a legit picture of both sides, but I am engaged against both sides of this SIN understand everyday.

The reason I’m writing this blog is because I was talking to FRIEND A about FRIEND B who has more or less lost his passion for God.  FRIEND A believes we should stick by B and just be open to the day he does come back.  I’ve kind of gone on an approach where I’ve reminded B about his declaration of faith and how the worldly pleasures won’t satisfy him, but of course I got shelacked for that and now B doesn’t talk to me about deep things anymore.

I am reminded about Jesus telling His disciples to wipe the dust off their feet off people who do not listen to them, but I am fully aware of loving my brother back.  I guess I feel I am not as confident as I was before in my “bold approach”.  How do we stand firm in our commitment to the Word when we’re surrounded by “christians” who do not live it out?

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. no idea… I have no idea…

    Comment by randplaty — August 8, 2008 @ 5:12 am

  2. I’ve got a few Friend Bs of my own. It’s been a while since I brought up any issues with these friends, and when I started to feel guilty about maybe becoming too passive, one Friend B said, “I already know what you think [of what I do].”

    My silence doesn’t mean I suddenly approve, but regardless of what this friend chooses, I’d rather her tell me about it anyway.

    Those who’ve grown up in the church know too well how we’ve failed. Those who’ve left just don’t know why these choices are considered wrong, or what could be better.

    Nice to see you blogging again.

    Comment by Weewian — August 11, 2008 @ 10:36 pm


Leave a Reply

