Emerging from the Chinese Church

Blogging, worthwhile investment? | May 22, 2008

Since I had the time today, I figured I’d finally put down a thought or two.

Every so often I’ve been contemplating whether to blog my thoughts or not.  I’ve felt for the past while it’s been tough to really put down my thoughts.  Whether this is a good place to share some thoughts about the chinese church and blog some thoughts that will hopefully stir, inspire and motivate those who are sorta in my same position.

Just a question to throw out (I hope I don’t sound like a broken record from my previous blog), is blogging about the chinese church really worthwhile?  Does it help anything?  Is blogging a “postmodern” way to “rally the troops”, to influence people to anything different?  Maybe this question is rhetorical, but does the Spirit causes revival/renewal through blogs and internet web posts?

I guess I’m just trying to find motivation (or an excuse) to blog again.  I have TONS of thoughts everyday about “Emerging from the Chinese Church”… I guess I just need some reasons to stick my neck out to just say it as it is again.  In the next year I will be done my seminary studies and moving on to (hopefully) pastoring.  I am thinking more and more about the future of faith in the next generation next gen asian christians (and beyond).

So again, whatch’all think?

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. yea, I’d say it does good. David Park’s blog has caused me to think about who I am, and has led me to a journey where I’ve grown a passion for Asian-Americans like me, who are trying to figure out who they are. Keep writing those thoughts!

    Comment by Josh D — May 22, 2008 @ 7:51 pm

  2. blogging’s not for everyone but it definitely helps me.

    one reason has nothing to do with the blog itself, but it’s simply the act of writing and completing sentences, that helps me process thoughts with more clarity as i interact in person with others.

    it’s also great to have an archive of your own journey, even if it’s just snippets.

    in terms of impact… i think there’s a lot more people out there than we think… lurking, reading… people who are far ahead or behind, or right next to us as we trek along…

    one church flew me down to iowa to speak to them a couple months ago… and there were zero chinese people there… so that could be an example of possibilities…

    i also think god wants to redeem all of creation, including the blogosphere… so voices of christ are needed here as well…

    networking wise it’s been great for me, though i feel like i know more people globally than locally where i need to minister now…

    anyhow, just a few thoughts.

    Comment by Lon — May 23, 2008 @ 5:32 pm

  3. Keep up the good work bloggers. I don’t know how I land on some blogs as I surf the web but I do and here I am. I guess it depends on what results you are looking for. If it’s a personal journal, then it benefits you, even if no one reads it. But I believe the Lord will direct those to your blog that need what He leads you to write.
    Thanks,
    Mark

    Comment by drjmarkh — May 23, 2008 @ 6:04 pm


Leave a Reply

